Sunday Inspiration – Finches I

Pine Grosbeak (Pinicola enucleator) ©WikiC

The LORD is good to all: and his tender mercies are over all his works. All thy works shall praise thee, O LORD; and thy saints shall bless thee. (Psalms 145:9-10 KJV)

The Fringillidae – Finches are another large family. With 225 species, the Sunday Inspiration will again have to be divided. This first group includes the Fringilla, Mycerobas, Hesperiphona, Coccothraustes, Eophona, Pinicola, Pyrrhulla, Leucosticte and Carpodacus genus. That is a total of 61 beautiful creations for Our Lord to check out. So, let’s see who they are.

Blue Chaffinch (Fringilla teydea) ©WikiC

Blue Chaffinch (Fringilla teydea) ©WikiC

The first three are from the Fringilla genus. Common Chaffinch, Blue Chaffinch and Brambling. The Chaffinch and Brambling breed in much of Europe, across Asia to Siberia and in northwest Africa. It prefers open woodland and often forages on the ground.

White-winged Grosbeak (Mycerobas carnipes) ©WikiC

White-winged Grosbeak (Mycerobas carnipes) ©WikiC

The Mycerobas grosbeaks are a genus of finch in the Fringillidae family. They are colorful finches and are at 20–23 cm the largest species in the family. They are found in the southern Himalayas and across into China.

Evening Grosbeak (Hesperiphona vespertinus) by Ian

Evening Grosbeak (Hesperiphona vespertinus) by Ian

Hesperiphona is a genus of grosbeaks in the family Fringillidae (the true finches). This genus is native to the New World.

Hawfinch (Coccothraustes coccothraustes) ©WikiC

The Hawfinch, along with the Chinese and Japanese Grosbeaks, and Pine Grosbeak are more of the closely related Grosbeak group.

Eurasian Bullfinch (Pyrrhula pyrrhula) by Ian

Eurasian Bullfinch (Pyrrhula) by Ian

The seven Bullfinches (Pyrrhula) have glossy black wings and tail feathers. They show a white rump. The legs and feet are fleshy brown. Their short, swollen bill is adapted to eat buds, and is black except for the brown bullfinch, which has a grey or greenish-grey bill. The males can be distinguished by their orange or red breast. Some species have a black cap. All species occur in Asia.

Trumpeter Finch (Bucanetes githagineus) ©WikiC

Trumpeter Finch (Bucanetes githagineus) ©WikiC

These next five genus only have six birds; Bucanetes, Agraphospiza, Callacanthis, Pyrrhoplectes, Procarduelis.

Grey-crowned Rosy Finch (Leucosticte tephrocotis) by Ian

Grey-crowned Rosy Finch (Leucosticte tephrocotis) by Ian

The mountain finches are birds in the genus Leucosticte from the true finch family, Fringillidae. This genus also includes the rosy finches, named from their pinkish plumage.

Pink-browed Rosefinch (Carpodacus rodochroa) ©Wiki

The rosefinches are a genus, Carpodacus, of passerine birds in the finch family Fringillidae. Most are called “rosefinches” and as the word implies, have various shades of red in their plumage. The common rosefinch is frequently called the “rosefinch”.
The Carpodacus rosefinches occur throughout Eurasia, but the greatest diversity is found in the Sino-Himalayas suggesting that the species originated in this region.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


“Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.” (Psalms 23:6 KJV)
“But I will sing of thy power; yea, I will sing aloud of thy mercy in the morning:” (Psalms 59:16a KJV)

“Mercies Anew” ~ by Lisa Brock, accompanied by Jill Foster


Sunday Inspiration

Fringillidae – Finches

Changed From the Inside Out


Please leave a Comment. They are encouraging.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s